Sunday Morning

Well, it’s been a while. Looks like I wasn’t as good at keeping up with school, work, and the interwebs as I thought. Now, though, I’m done with school and taking it easy on the work front to catch up on the home front, so hopefully we can make this a more regular thing.

French Toast with Strawberries

Starting easy – here’s our Sunday Breakfast. We try to have one nice breakfast a week, sometimes out, sometimes home. Last week was a failed attempt at beignets (bad recipe, tasty, but not a beignet). This week it was too warm to deep fry, so we made French Toast. Not super-fancy but since we don’t often indulge in sweet carby breakfasts, it was nice. I am not a huge fan of custards, so I make my french toast pretty light, which means the bread has to be top notch. Today we used a delicious challah from New Seasons, our favorite local grocery.

If you’d like to make you some it’s super easy, I don’t even use a recipe. In a pie pan, whisk an egg up, then add some milk. How much milk depends on how much french toast I’m making, how dry the bread is, etc. Like I said, I don’t like my french toast all soggy and usually make about 6 slices of french toast, so I usually end up putting a quarter inch of liquid in the bottom of the pie pan (don’t worry, if it looks like you’re running out, just splash some more milk in and stir!). Whisk in some cinnamon and nutmeg, or your favorite spices. Heat up a pan over medium, add some butter if it isn’t non-stick (I usually even give my non-stick a butter swipe for flavor’s sake). Then dip your bread slices, flip to coat the other side, and move to the pan (I do this quickly to avoid soggy french toast, if you like that kind of thing, let it soak up some, but you might want to increase your egg and milk amounts). Cook until browned on each side, and adjust your heat if it’s going too quickly, especially if you let it soak in, you want to cook the egg-milk mixture through.

I served these with diced strawberries with a little orange mint mixed in and maple syrup. Yum.

Leave a Reply

